Just a spoonful of (vegan!) sugar helps the medicine go down! You might have thought that all sugar was vegan and we forgive you for that. Many people don’t realize that regular sugar is often refined with bone char, meaning it’s not vegan sugar. So we are saving the day once again with our fantastic range of vegan sugar. Our natural sugars and organic sugars will bring the sweetest smile to your cooking, without any of the nasty stuff. Read more
Vegan sugar is sugar that is not refined with bone char. It’s basically any sugar that has not involved any animal products in its processing. It’s an umbrella term that incorporates all kinds of natural sugars, such as coconut palm sugar, agave syrup, and organic cane sugar. Let's look at some of our top vegan sugars!
Top vegan sugars to try
Coconut palm sugar is something special! It’s sourced from the nectar of the coconut palm flower. It doesn’t actually taste like coconut - it has a wonderful caramel flavor. We have a TON of amazing coconut sugars you can try.
Here are a few of our favorites: Wholesome - Coconut Palm Sugar, Bob’s Red Mill - Coconut Sugar, and last but not least Supernatural - Organic Coconut Sugar.
Agave nectar is another awesome vegan sugar. It’s an awesome sugar alternative that comes from the sap of the agave plant. It looks a lot like honey and can be used as a vegan honey substitute. One of our best-selling brands is Cadia Agave Nectar Light. Add some to your coffee, or drizzle over a nutritious bowl of oatmeal or chia pudding!
Organic Cane Sugar is a pure and simple vegan sugar. The organic sugar we stock is all grown sustainably and ethically. Our organic cane sugars do not use bone char to process them, so they’re 100% vegan sugars.
We have a range of organic cane sugar options but some of our favorites are Big Country Foods - Organic Cane Sugar and Wholesome - Cane Sugar (Raw Turbinado & Organic).
Organic cane sugar is unrefined and less processed than regular white sugar. This means it retains a lot more of the sugar cane’s nutrients.
How is vegan sugar made?
How vegan sugar is made depends on which vegan sugar you are talking about! Let's look at the three types of sugar mentioned above.
- Coconut sugar is a natural sugar made by extracting coconut palm sap from the palm flower’s bud. This sap is boiled with water to form a syrup. It is left to crystallize through drying, and the crystals are then broken up to produce sugar granules. It looks just like regular cane sugar!
- Agave syrup is made from the sap of the agave plant. Leaves are cut from the plant, and the sap is extracted from them. This liquid is then filtered and heated to break down its components. It is broken down into fructose, which is then concentrated into a syrup that looks like honey.
- Organic cane sugar is made from organically-grown sugar cane. The cane is washed, chopped, and crushed so that its juice can be extracted. This cane juice, which is rich in molasses, is boiled. It is then left to dry and forms sugar crystals. Whilst regular refined cane sugar is not vegan, organic cane sugar is because it’s unrefined and therefore does not use bone char.
Is vegan sugar healthy?
Our vegan sugars, which are all-natural sugars, undergo far less processing than regular white sugar. This means that they retain way more nutrients, and don’t contain any of the nasty artificial stuff. Your body may be able to use these nutrients to help prevent insulin spikes, so it is thought that vegan sugars may be a better option for diabetics.
Whilst our natural sugars should still be consumed in moderation as a part of a healthy, balanced diet, we think they are an excellent alternative to refined table sugar. Vegan sugar is not just for vegans, it’s for anyone looking to eat in a more natural way.
Recipes using vegan sugar
We hardly need to tell you all the wonderful things you can do with organic sugar! It’s a pantry staple that can enhance almost any type of cooking. But we thought we’d show you a few of our luxuriously sweet recipes that call for you to buy organic sugar! A few ideas to satisfy your sweet tooth…
- This fruity Berry Crisp calls for coconut sugar. It’s a real sweet crowd-pleaser that you can serve up warm with a dollop of vegan ice cream for a decadent but fruit-packed treat!
- Use brown organic sugar to make these utterly divine Vegan Brownies. They are every chocoholic’s dream, whether you’re vegan or not!
- Edible Cookie Dough is the ultimate in nostalgic comfort. Organic brown sugar or coconut sugar sweetens this sticky, gooey delight.
But obviously vegan sugar isn’t just for desserts! Vegan sugar will bring a hint of sweetness to savory dishes too. Buy organic sugar to add to your favorite tomatoey pasta sauce. Sprinkle a little natural sugar over some carrots and parsnips before roasting. Or add a pinch of gluten-free sugar to your next vegan curry, to balance the heat. The sky’s the limit!
Frequently Asked Questions
Is vegan sugar harmful to your teeth?
All sugar can be damaging to your teeth if you are not caring for your teeth accordingly. Sugar should be consumed in moderation as it can feed the naturally occurring bacteria in your mouth, producing an acid that can erode the enamel of your teeth. Even the sugar in a piece of fruit can do this. Vegan sugar is perfectly safe when consumed in moderation. With the right dental care, you can safely enjoy delicious natural sugar without worry.
Make sure you drink plenty of water throughout the day, especially after any sugary treats. You should brush your teeth at least twice a day and avoid brushing your teeth within an hour of consuming anything sugary. Flossing always helps too! And don’t forget to visit your dentist every six months for checkups.
Can diabetics eat sugar?
According to the American Diabetes Association, diabetics may still be able to eat sugar in moderation, as part of a healthy lifestyle that includes a good diet and exercise. Coconut sugar has become especially popular with diabetics as it has a low glycemic index so may have a lesser effect on blood sugar than regular refined sugar.
If unsure, please always speak to a medical professional for advice.
Can vegans eat honey?
Whilst some vegans do eat honey, by definition, it is not vegan. This is because it is produced by insects. Bees gather nectar from flowers and partially digest it. When back in their hives, they regurgitate it and seal it into the honeycomb. One could argue that exploitation of the bees is involved in farming bees for honey, so most vegans choose to remove honey from their diets.
We believe we should let bees keep their honey. There are so many amazing honey alternatives now, there’s really no need for us to use bee honey. Buy organic sugar today and experience the sweet taste of natural sugar without cruelty.