Honey & Syrups
Cutting down on sugar but still want to keep life luscious? Welcome to the wonderful world of vegan honey, vegan sweeteners, and vegan syrups! Made from plants, vegan sweeteners are the perfect way to get that sweet kick, without the wicked white stuff.
Designed for drizzling, breakfasts, baking, hot drinks, and more, vegan sweeteners are versatile, economical and 100% delicious! From agave syrup to zero-calorie stevia, we’ve got all the vegan sweeteners your plant-based pantry needs. Read more
Bees spend a great deal of time making honey - and a lot of people love it! But before you go drizzling some on your food or drink, you need to as yourself, “Is honey plant-based”? The answer is no! Does that mean you have to miss out on this syrupy sweetness? Absolutely not! We found some fantastic plant-based honey that looks and tastes just like bees’ honey. 🐝
The Single Origin Food Co is a brand well-known for its ethically sourced products. Their bottles of plant-based honey are just the bee’s knees. We bet you’re buzzing to try these out for yourself!
Bee the first in line to get a bottle of vegan honey here at PlantX! Use it to sweeten your tea, coffee, or just about any dessert.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why is Honey Not Vegan-Friendly?
The simple answer is that honey is produced by bees. Bees are animals, meaning honey is an animal product and therefore not vegan. However, there are other ethical considerations that also make vegan honey alternatives a better choice for everyone.
- Much of the world’s honey comes from bees that have pollinated huge monoculture crops and are therefore contaminated with pesticides/insecticides. In fact, it has been revealed that a majority of honey samples taken worldwide contained traces of insecticides.
- The non-vegan honey you see in the store might not be what it says it is. The honey industry is plagued by fraud and mislabeling, and many kinds of honey are diluted with cheaper sweeteners like corn syrup. According to the Food Fraud Database, honey is the 3rd most adulterated product, after milk and olive oil.
- Industrial beekeeping practices are often destructive. These include treating hives with antibiotics, burning whole colonies to contain the illness, and replacing the honey in the hives with cheap corn syrup.
Luckily, we have a whole hive of delicious bee-friendly vegan honey alternatives to get you buzzing!
Can Kids Eat Vegan Sweeteners?
The American Heart Association suggests that children under 2 years old shouldn’t eat any added sugar. Added sugar includes vegan sweeteners such as agave syrup, maple syrup, and vegan honey. After the age of 2, it is best for kids to eat a balanced diet with a limited amount of added sugar or sweeteners.
For more information about the safety of artificial vegan sweeteners (including stevia) for kids, check out this helpful blog.
Are All Sweeteners Gluten-Free?
All vegan sweeteners are naturally gluten-free, as none of them contain derivatives of wheat, barley, or rye. However, not all vegan sweeteners are certified Gluten-Free. This is because they may be contaminated with gluten during production.
All of our certified Gluten-Free sweeteners are marked as such so that you can find celiac-safe sweeteners quickly and easily. Remember to use PlantX's handy Gluten-Free Filter in the left-hand sidebar, under Health & Ingredients to find 100% gluten-free and vegan sweeteners.
Which Vegan Sweeteners are Lower in Calories?
Some natural vegan sweeteners are very low-calorie or calorie-free! These include stevia, erythritol, xylitol, and monk fruit sweetener. These are great for hot drinks, desserts, and baking. Agave syrup and coconut sugar are also low in calories when consumed in small quantities, plus they're very natural (what we love here at PlantX!).